Final Walk Cycle and Beauty Shots

Video

beauty 3beauty 2beauty 1

 

While animating my walk cycle, I tried to mimic as best as I could the high kneed, short-gaited walk of the claymation Gromit. This proved slightly problematic during skinning, as I had not prepared enough polygons to allow the knee to raise as high as I would like without warping the stomach. In the end I managed to find an angle that worked.

 

One problem that I couldn’t solve however was the eyes, which seemed set on a huge circular axis, despite being skinned to the head. This meant that no matter how many different ways and times I reset the axis of the eyeballs, once I tried to animate their movement within the walk they would fly off on a different axis. In the end I was forced to keep the eyes completely still, only animating the head to look at the camera.

morphers

Leave a Reply

