Early Short Film Ideas

Standard

When coming with some kind of an idea for a short film, I hit a hurdle right away. My ideal film would be something relating to politics and the psychology of propaganda and advertising, but that would be far to big a topic to cover, while everyday tasks such as walking the dog lacked depth or a purpose.

One topic that I felt had some potential however was procrastination. I myself am bad at time management and needlessly wasting time on nothing, and this is a major problem for students in particular – balancing freedom with responsibility.

The article that initially sparked my interest focused on the evolutionary and biological theories for why people procrastinate – mainly linked with our instinct for instant gratification and inability to properly measure time, making next week seem impossibly far away and warping our priorities. While I love this approach, I had trouble thinking of a visual way of telling the story – facts just aren’t that interesting, and that kind of angle probably won’t appeal to many people. What would they do with that information?

http://youarenotsosmart.com/2010/10/27/procrastination/

Plus the best way of telling it has already been done;

Instead, I felt that the best way of telling an ‘informative entertaining’ story about procrastination from my perspective, and to fit with the brief of a pleasant task – would be to simply show a day in the life of a student as they struggle with trying to do work and being distracted in pointless ways.

To help me focus an idea I like to find its purpose, so I tried to think of why a film about a student getting distracted should be worth anyone attention;

This kind of scenario could go 2 ways

  1. a kind of ‘procrastinator anonymous’ you are not alone psa
  2. a ‘be aware’ approach

                                    – showing the silliness of the things that waste our time and how prcrastination really looks from the outside, potentially helping people recognize and guard against it

 

 

Leave a Reply

